L-i-v-i-n

To Create is To Live

The boundless free flow of creative expression is what keeps us physically and mentally supple, as a child. When we attempt to control it, limit it, mortgage it to the acceptable and safe, then the bounds of that safety project themselves onto body and mind, subjecting both to a severely limited range of motion that hardens over time.

Play does not require willpower to stay focused and overcome our natural desires; it is natural desire manifest.

When we play, we are willing to try things without guarantee of their eventual usefulness or value; yet paradoxically, it is precisely when we let go of such motivations that we produce the things of greatest use.

Because the creativity of play is spontaneous, unbidden, and impervious to any rote formulization, we must consider that it comes from a source beyond ourselves.”

 Charles Eisenstein

 

I heard a word the other day. This word is a seemingly average word that’s used all the time, but when I heard it the other day it was as if I’d never heard it before and was learning for the first time what it meant. What is this mysterious word, that has me writing about it like a maniacal, vocabulary-obsessed nerd?

Create. 

To create is to bring something into existence, and perhaps produce through artistic or imaginative effort. 

And then it hit me. 

When did I stop creating? And why? And, serendipitously, I stumbled upon the quote ^above^.

Now, I’m not saying I have all the answers now that I’ve realized that I not only want, but need to begin creating things (no, I don’t know what those things are quite yet) to experience my best life. 

But let’s consider this the first of many steps to come…

So… What will you create?

Leave a Reply

