Goooooool!! / Into the Great Wide Open

Vision. Goal. Crush. Repeat.

“There was no you that couldn’t do it, until you created the you that couldn’t do it” 

GOAL = CRUSHED.

Just moments ago I reached one of my biggest goals of the past year and purchased a flight to Australia and New Zealand.

When I set this goal, I knew that it would be difficult, and risky for sure. Saving the amount of money for ticket sounded crazy to a lot of people, considering the fact that I’m a recent college grad who’s not exactly rolling in dough per se.

But I knew it was what I wanted, I knew it came from an honest place. It was as if my true self was coaching me along the whole way, reminding me  that it was something that I just needed to make it happen. 

When I started my job in July, I used the lululemon Vision and Goals Worksheet to make my goal clear:

I travel to Australia and New Zealand for two weeks by April 2013. 

Clear. Concise. Measurable.

And I phrased my goal as if I had already achieved it, bringing it out of my subconscious and into to my conscious world.

And the whole time while saving (and especially when I was about to buy the ticket) I had to remind myself to live in a space of possibility: the only thing that could stop my from achieving the goal would be me telling myself that I couldn’t do it. And I’d be damned if I was going to let myself do that.

So here I was, about to buy the ticket, and I was… terrified.

Not only for the amount of money that I was about to spend, but also because it was the first time I had really written out a huge goal like this and then seen it come to be. In that moment, my life was really happening, and I was fully aware of what I was doing, but also fully aware that it was kind of crazy.

Basically,  I was tweaking. 

And just when some part of me started to tell myself that I shouldn’t be doing this, or that it was stupid of me to spend that amount of money, or that I didn’t deserve a trip like this, I stopped.

And it was then when the other part of me, the real me and not the negative voice in my head (so to speak) told the other voice to shut the (expletive-deleted) up, and boom: I was fully in possibility.

And I was being unreasonable. 

And it was great.

When we act unreasonably, from the present moment that we’re in, we are fully participating in our own lives. It’s as if we’re taking our life and enjoying it. We’re  participating, rather than limiting ourselves to bystanders, watching other people live the life they’re meant to live.

So I encourage you all to dwell in possibility today, tomorrow, and in the days to come.

Set goals from that place. Reach goals from that place. Set new goals from that place, and reach those bad boys too.

That’s when you’re really making things happen. That’s when you’re crafting a life you love.

“It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.”

– Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

 

Sydney

Sydney, Australia   

Christchurch, NZ

Christchurch, NZ

A Few Tips:

  • I booked my flight through Student Universe. If you’re a student or under 26 you can get reduced prices, so if you’re in the market for a plane ticket, check it out!
  • You can download the lululemon Vision & Goals Worksheet from their website. If you have any questions about it, just find your local store and stop by to ask! The Educators there will be more than happy to help you out. 
  • In need of inspiration to dwell in possibility? I recommend the books The Art of Possibility by Rosamund and Ben Zander, and The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. 
Leave a Reply

