Into the Great Wide Open / L-i-v-i-n

Ms. Fine’s Story

I recently asked my friend Rachael Fine to write a a a little about her experiences in life after school, as a soon-to-be 25 year-old, and some big moves she’s making… Here’s her story:

So here’s the deal.  I’m about to embark on a crazy adventure.  Here are the deets:

I am about to turn 25.

I am moving across the country.

I am moving back in with my parents.

 

Quarter-life crisis?  Maybe a little.  Let’s just call it “A New Chapter in this Book of Life.”

Let me lay out the background information for you.  I was born and raised in rural Virginia, and I swore I would never return.  I didn’t have a horrible childhood by any means; there’s just absolutely nothing to do in a town where the population of cows largely exceeds the population of bipeds.  My next-door neighbors had an above ground pool in their front yard next to their proudly waving confederate flag and collection of four-wheelers.  My high school is between a cornfield and a 7-11.  It isn’t uncommon to wake up to the sweet smell of manure.  I think you get the picture, so I’ll spare you nitty gritty and move on…

I attended college at a small, preppy, country-club of a university in North Carolina (only amazing things to say about that one…go Phoenix!)  This lovely establishment gave me the opportunity to spend a summer living, interning, and playing in Los Angeles.  I knew right then and there that I was going to shake off the dust of my hickville hometown and move to bright, sunny LA.  I cried when my parents dropped me off at the airport because I was scared.  I laughed maniacally when I got into the security line because I knew beginning my adult life in a metropolis far away from everyone I knew and loved at that time was probably one of the coolest things I’d ever do.  I smiled quietly to myself and dreamed in a Hollywood diner in on my first full day as a Los Angeles resident.  I had arrived.

Here we are, nearly two and a half years later, and I’m about to reverse my trek.  Don’t get me wrong, friendly readers, LA has treated me pretty nicely.  I love every person I have met, every lesson I have learned, and every kale salad I’ve consumed.  But do you ever have those A HA! moments where you realize that what you’re doing isn’t what you’re meant to do?  LA, as great as it is, isn’t the place for me.  So now it’s time for me to return to the land of cows (and then find my own place in D.C. ASAP), apply to graduate schools, and continue on.  So this is what life looks like…from the perspective of an (almost) 25-year-old starting all over again.

 

Leave a Reply

