Reading is Cool

Where The Sidewalk Ends

Like many other “Millenial generation” kids (which I now know means those who grew up in the 21st century, thanks to my mom) I grew up reading Shel Silverstein poems. He has a few different books, including “A Light in the Attic”, “Falling Up”, “Where The Sidewalk Ends” and (probably most famously) “The Giving Tree”.

One of Shel’s illustrations from “Ickle Me Pickle Me Tickle Me Too”

Here’s a few of his poems that I still love to stumble upon today:

The Voice

Masks

Listen To The Musn’ts

From the book “The Missing Piece” (love this book but all of the youtube videos of people reading it were weirdly emo and intense… Check it out yourself)

One thought on “Where The Sidewalk Ends

  1. I LOVED Shel Silverstein! I recited Ickle Me, Pickle Me, Tickle Me Too for a thing in fifth grade, haha. Can’t wait to start reading his poems to Maddie.

    Loving your blog so far McKenna! (just got caught up) Can’t wait to read more, I feel like I’m getting to know you a bit better. =D

Leave a Reply

